top of page
  • Writer's picturebtowne33

Carrigain

Flags on the 48


On Signal Ridge looking over to Willey Mountain


I thought that Carrigain would be a nice finish for my 48 4000-footer adventures as its on people's favorite list and it just so happened that Saturday September 11th was Flags on the 48. It’s an event to commemorate 9/11 by hosting a flag on each of the NH 48 which I had pinpointed this was a great way to finish. On my way up the trail, I saw individuals carrying the heavy metal pole sections and I thanked them for their part.


My first interaction with hikers was when I heard two ladies discussing intently something about the military, when I got closer to pass one of them turned around and said, "I am sorry I am just having a cry here". I knew somehow a loved one had died related to 9/11. I touched her on the shoulder without making eye contact and kept hiking. I am hoping that little gesture was helpful. On the top of the fire tower before we hosted the flag there was a woman holding a framed picture of a firefighter and hoisted the flag which was special. I am glad I witnessed this event 20 years after 9/11. It felt way different than my other hikes, as I often would hike up, touch the cairn or the marker, talk to a few people and make my way down the mountain. There was 40 or so people at the top and it felt more of a community hike.


I got to Signal Ridge trail later than usual around 8:30 AM and start walking with an older hiker who I think said he has done of 100k hikes and does a 4000-footer at least once a month for several years. We departed ways as he took the longer way to Carrigain for a loop to "make a bit different". I have met so many ‘salt of the earth’ type hikers that just want to do their thing and be left alone without any boasting or commiserating to which I have been very impressed. One thing I have learned from these hikes is not judge a book by its cover. Especially a hiker you meet on the trail - there story could be amazing if you take a moment to talk with them and look past any silly outfit or gear, they may have on.





Signal Ridge trail is a constant 30 degrees after the first 2 mile walk in with edges of old forest. I tried to put in another gear today to see how I would react - especially since this is my final 4000-footer, I figured it deserved it. It was busy on the trail today…. I passed several people and several others passed me. I met guy coming down the trail who decided that we should have a '48 over 250' club which signifies the extra herculean effort it is to hike all 48 4000 footers over 250 pounds. There is a '48 over 70' (years old) club so why stop at age; can't we do size as well? I think it’s time for a specially crafted email to hiking people… whomever they are. I think this task is possible by all people of all ages and all sizes as it just comes down to determination. Determination kept my feet moving and my eyes on the summit.









I am happy I decided to do this list as it gave me something to aim for and to something to look forward to. I found myself checking off the maps and list of my hike at the end of the day with tired knees and then mysteriously looking at what I could do next like an insane person. Maybe because I knew the feeling, I got from the mountain was momentum to do it again. I thought of the firefighters on 9/11 as they hiked up 80 or more flights of stairs and how I was doing the same thing today… not for glory but more for life and duty. I am extremely grateful to come down each mountain unscathed (mostly) and how I have the love and support to make my crazy dream into a reality. I finished the 48 4000 footers in less than a calendar year and I am proud!


Date

September 11th 2021


Distance

10.41 miles

Elevation Gain

3,471 feet


AllTrails

35 views0 comments
bottom of page