top of page
  • Writer's picturebtowne33

Flume & Liberty

Updated: Dec 29, 2020

Epic ice climb up the Terrifying Flume Side Trail


On top of Liberty looking back to Flume


I got to the Basin parking lot around sunrise at 7 AM expecting to go up Liberty Spring trail to Mount Liberty and then over to Flume via Franconia Ridge trail and then back the way I came, however as most things with hiking you need flexibility. I asked a guy who parked at the same time as me what he was doing today and those two peaks were his plans in which Flume was his 48th 4000 footer. I asked him if we could pair up and he obliged, however he said he was taking the Flume Slide trail which is on the Terrifying 25 hiking trails list in NH and in winter was only for "experienced hikers".


I was excited to be hiking with someone and thrilled that he was with me to do this tricky trail. Flume slide trail was really easy until about 2700 feet elevation and then it went straight up - I mean straight up with ice and no hand or foot holds with boulders chest high. Microspikes and stubborn trees saved the day. This part I really enjoyed as it was slow climbing with thoughtful moves. I felt like a kid again maneuvering through the wild. At one point we needed to go off to the side of the flat facing rock and then then bushwhack back to the trail.


At one point I said out loud that now I was an "experienced hiker" and the people at the top were amazed to hear our feat. I certainly feel that having someone else there made it a lot less daunting and more confident. We shared angles to take, which ice was harder than others, which foothold so we feed off each other and at one point head to wait for him as my long legs and arms were at a great advantage over his frame. He returned the favor on the way over to Liberty as I was losing steam on the second ascent.



Hiking up the last bit of Flume Slide trail


Flume has this crazy thin edge walk on the last .1 miles that went straight down and made it much more dramatic and interesting. The top had 360 degree views with Owls Head and the Bonds off to the East with Washington peaking with its white cap farther in the distance and West back at Kinsmans and Lincoln and Lafayette to the North. It was special being back on the Franconia Ridge again where I started this 4000 footer journey. Snow on the top of these peaks make the hikes more interesting, slower going, but more dramatic with a monochromic scenery. After a quick chat with other hikers and some pictures off to Liberty we went. The snow covered trail was like bushwhacking on skis with 8 feet high spruce and four or five inches of snow.





Down to the col and back up is a familiar route for any peak baggers between doing more than one 4000 footer. Going up Flume Slide and down Liberty Springs created a loop which is nice for new experiences, except I did Liberty Springs on my first hike but nice to see in the winter and I was in better condition. The top of Liberty had similar views as Flume but had a little bigger peak for exploring. Looking back at Flume you could see the ridge that we walked up and brought a smile to my face knowing that it was a challenge and I overcame it.


Date November 29th 2020 Distance 9.48


Elevation Gain 3,586 feet



29 views0 comments
bottom of page