top of page
  • Writer's picturebtowne33

Garfield

Updated: Jul 17, 2021

Perfect Jaunt on a Perfect Day

Looking into the Pemi - Owls Head near left, Flume and Liberty center and Lincoln right


Again, I saw that the weather was going to be clear and right around 50 degrees which would be perfect for hiking. Because the day was going to be great, I wanted to hike a summit that would have views. And oh Mt. Garfield does not disappoint on views - 360 degrees all the way to Mt. Mansfield in Vermont westerly, Mt. Washington just peaking behind the Carter Range and the top of the Pemigewasset forest. The Pemi is round so you see a ridge in every direction and of course Owl's Head right in the middle of the circle. Owl's Head taunted me I think with "remember when I kicked your ass?" Did I mention the views… I must have spent more time on the summit than any other as it was easy to lose yourself in it.



Mt. Garfield Trail was probably the easiest trail I have done yet in this adventure. I was thankful for that as I felt like I didn’t get good sleep and I set the alarm for 4:00 AM to beat the crowds. I arrived at the trailhead at 6:00 AM and was on my way. The trail meandered Gale River for a bit and then continued up the ridge. It had some switchbacks which is very uncommon for the White Mountains. Again, the trail had flat sections with little elevation angles…. It felt like a breeze. The only steep section is right towards the top, maybe the last .4 miles, however at that point you know what's coming and the adrenaline kicks in to get to see the views.



I saw a lady slipper flower on the edge of the trail coming down to which I thought of my youth and seeing those in the woods behind my house. I felt nostalgic and maybe it was a sign that I was doing what I am supposed to be doing.





When I got to the top a guy hiking the Semi Pemi (21 out the 31-mile trek) was right behind me. It was just him and I for a while and we chatted up. Soon a guy getting his second 4000-footer joined us for some good conversation. Then a fourth joined all talked about the same thing - hiking. It’s like, we are all high on adrenaline all talking about the thing we are doing. Kinda cool. I was in t-shirt and shorts for most of the day, the bugs were not too bad, and it was no clouds with nice temperatures - a perfect jaunt on a perfect day.






Date

June 18th 2021


Distance

9.88 miles


Elevation Gain

3,015 feet


All Trails


9 views0 comments
bottom of page