top of page
  • Writer's picturebtowne33

Hancock & South Hancock

Updated: Nov 30, 2020

Superb late fall snowy hike

Such a great hike to Mount Hancock and South Hancock. Ten minutes from Lincoln on the Kancamagus.

Cold enough but just right... and microspikes are key

Wow, what a great hike this was as there was no wind and around 24-30 degrees with 2-3 inches of snow. This hike is pretty much two different hikes - there is 3 miles of flat and then 1 mile of straight up the North peak. There was some river crossing that were gnarly as the crossing rocks had a thin coating of ice over them and it was preferable to stand on rock that were just under the water line. At one point I was on my hands and knees crossing a river that no way would have been stable enough for me to step on and my leg up to my calf was in the water for several seconds while I shifted - luckily my pants and boots held out and no water ended up in them otherwise I probably would have to turn around.


On the North Peak


Two college age kids go to the parking lot at the same time as me and we leapfrogged each other all day. It was nice knowing that at least someone was around which made it feel less lonely than usual. I ended up getting to the parking lot as the same time as them. My feet were cramped and tired. I ended stopping by One Love Brewer for a burger and an IPA before heading back to reality.


I think I like snowy hiking.


On the South Peak




Just a little taste of hike. This is walking between North and South Peaks


Date

October 31st 2020


Distance

9.6 miles


Elevation Gain

2,664 feet


AllTrails

23 views0 comments
bottom of page