top of page
  • Writer's picturebtowne33

North & South Kinsman

Updated: Dec 29, 2020

Warm November window


Looking over to Franconia Ridge

A really warm streak came through New Hampshire with 70 degrees in town which meant a great opportunity to get in another fall like hike. On the night before I decided to change plans from the Presidential to North and South Kinsman because I wasn't ready for the challenge however Kinsmans had the Fishin' Jimmy Trail with steep climbs and up and downs. I needed microspikes for everything above 2800 feet elevation which proved much easier to dig into ice on the rocks than water and leaves.


Within 1 mile you hit Lonesome Lake which is spectacular with a AMC hut and great views. From Lonesome Lake to Kinsman Pond the Fishin' Jimmy trail was fun and tactical. I was feeling really good on this trail as around every corner was some interesting. I felt like I could hit North and South Kinsman and then add Cannon but that is not how I felt when I was 5.2 miles in on the top of South Kinsman and needed to come down the same distance.


Lonesome Lake

At Kinsman Pond I took a little jaunt over to the tent site and pond to check it out. It is strange seeing water so high in elevation and nothing around but mountains and trees. It was good to get some sun on my face for a short bit and then it felt like forever for the last mile or so to the top of North Kinsman with some steep elevation gain. The other great thing for me about hiking the Kinsmans was every now and then I could look back and see to over to the Franconia Ridge where I was on my first 4000 footer and first overnight hike. It was like seeing an old friend I haven't seen and while and memories kept flooding into my head. I think how far I have come and how much experience and strength since that hike only a month and a half ago. The viewing area on top of North Kinsman blasted the Franconia Ridge like a framed picture. My old friends Lafayette, Lincoln and Little Haystack smiled back at me.



I met an older gentlemen on the peak who we talked about the conditions and microspikes and then asked me if I was going over to South Kinsman to which I exclaimed that I needed to. He told me he took one look down the trail and decided not too which he complained it was 2 miles away to which I told him it was only .6 miles. He shrugged his shoulders and down to the parking lot he went.


Heading to South Kinsman did feel far away only because it was getting on in hours for me. It was a little up and down but it was worth it as you had 360 views from that peak. There was a false summit and saw a cairn in the distance which I heard had a seat that looked like a throne. I did also remember about the false summit wondering if I was higher where I was then the cairn on the next hill. I pondered it for what seemed like a very long time to add any more distance but would feel really awful if I didn’t actually hit the summit to which I pressed on to the cairn. I am glad I did as it really was the summit and the views were great.



After 30 seconds of rest I headed back down the long journey over iced over rocks. At Lonesome Lake there was a trail junction and could not find my way back to where I came and took Dodge Cutoff and some of the Hi-Cannon trails which was just awful. The trail was steep with all loose gravel. I was swearing out loud that the trail sucks and after 9 miles it felt very painful. I'd rather have stones and roots (even icy ones) any day. My feet were burning but was happy to see the car again.

I also saw the old man from the top of North Kinsman who got there at the same time as me and I added 2 miles more to my trip. He called me "a machine" but I also was much younger than him but still put a smile to my face. The truth is that he was the inspiring one today.


Date

November 7th 2020


Distance

10.5 miles


Elevation Gain

3,301 feet


AllTrails

19 views0 comments
bottom of page